Photo by: Purwo Kuncoro

Live This Month: August

Join The Leakey Foundation for these upcoming programs:

Lunch Break Science #32 | Kevin Hatala
August 5 at 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Meet Leakey Foundation scientist Kevin Hatala and learn what 1.5 million-year-old fossil footprints tell us about our early ancestors. Watch on FacebookTwitter,  YouTube, or here on Leakey Foundation Live to participate in the Q&A session.


Lunch Break Science #33 | Brenna Henn and Austin Reynolds
August 19 at 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Meet geneticists Brenna Henn and colleague Austin Reynolds and learn about human genetic diversity in Sub-Saharan Africa. Watch on FacebookTwitter,  YouTube, or here on Leakey Foundation Live to participate in the Q&A session.


Summer Travel Series: Primate Research Sites
August 26 at 5 pm PT · 6 pm MT · 7 pm CT · 8 pm ET

Explore four fascinating primate research sites with Leakey Foundation scientists as your guides – all while supporting a good cause!

This event in the “Summer Travel Series” takes you on a whirlwind virtual tour of several sites that received funding through the Primate Research Fund

Dr. Takeshi Furuichi takes us to the forests of the Democratic Republic of the Congo where the first-ever ecological and behavioral study of bonobos was established.

Dr. Jill Pruetz takes us to a mosaic environment in Senegal where we’ll see how the dry savannah environment influences chimpanzee behavior.

Lastly, Dr. Caroline Schuppli takes us to the forests of Sumatra in Indonesia where Suaq orangutans are exhibiting complex behaviors, such as tool use.

Learn more or register here!



Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Content