.

Live

Lunch Break Science

Lunch Break Science is The Leakey Foundation’s live-streamed web series. This series features interviews and short talks with Leakey Foundation grantees about the latest in human evolution research.

Take a break from your day and feed your brain with The Leakey Foundation. New episodes stream live the first and third Thursday of every month on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and here on this page!

Watch on Facebook, Twitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

Bookmark this page and come back on October 15th for our next episode!


Featured Video


Lunch Break Science # 12 | Margaret Crofoot and Grace Davis

Meet Leakey Foundation grantees Margaret Crofoot and Grace Davis and learn about leadership and decision making in primate societies.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live on October 15, 2020.


Upcoming Live Videos


Unravelling the Genetic Past and Present of Island Southeast Asia | Irene Gallego Romero

October 20 at 5 pm PT | 6 pm MT | 7 pm CT | 8 pm ET

Leakey Foundation grantee Irene Gallego Romero discusses the presence of Denisovan DNA in present-day Papuans. She also examines the positioning of Indonesia in the global human genetics landscape.

This live-streamed lecture is part of The Leakey Foundation Speaker Series on Human Origins. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.


Lunch Break Science #13 | Catherine Markham

October 22 at 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Catherine Markham and learn about social competition in primate groups and her science outreach program Shutterbug Science.

Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

This special episode of Lunch Break Science is part of the Bay Area Science Festival.


Recent Videos


Lunch Break Science #1 | Zarin Machanda

Explore the nature of chimpanzee communication and relationships with Leakey Foundation grantee and director of the Kibale Chimpanzee Project Zarin Machanda

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on June 25, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 2 | Lauren Schroeder

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Lauren Schroeder and learn what it takes to study the skulls of early human ancestors.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on July 2, 2020.


Lunch Break Science #3 | Chalachew Seyoum

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Chalachew Seyoum and explore the adaptation of early humans’ diet to their environments. He also discusses his discovery of the oldest Homo specimen, dated 2.8 Ma.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on July 9, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 4 | Jenny Tung

Learn about the need for connection and the lasting health impacts of social inequality with MacArthur Fellow and Leakey Foundation grantee Jenny Tung.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on July 16, 2020.


Science Through Visual Stories | Sara ElShafie Workshop

Join Sara ElShafie, a global change biologist and science storytelling consultant, to learn how to create aesthetically pleasing and informative visuals for science storytelling. “Science Through Visual Stories” is part of our career development program for Leakey Foundation grantees and the wider science community.

This online workshop will help you create better presentations, figures, photographs, footage, and any other visual media you need for your science communication endeavors. This event was recorded live on July 22, 2020.


Lunch Break Science #5 | Rachna Reddy

Explore the social lives of chimpanzees with Leakey Foundation grantee Rachna Reddy.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on July 23, 2020.


Lunch Break Science #6 | Hailay Reda

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Hailay Reda and learn what it takes to use fossils to reconstruct paleoenvironments. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on July 30, 2020.


Lunch Break Science #7 | Daniel Lieberman

Explore the intersection of human evolution and health with Leakey Foundation grantee Daniel Lieberman. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live on August 6, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 8 | Anne Stone

Explore the evolution of pathogens with Leakey Foundation grantee Anne Stone. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live on August 13, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 9

August 20 at 11 am PDT / 12 pm MDT / 1 pm CDT / 2 pm EDT

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Caroline Schuppli and learn about orangutan cognition. This short interview is part of The Leakey Foundation’s weekly video series Lunch Break Science. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live on August 20, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 10 | Ainash Childebayeva

August 27 at 11 am PDT / 12 pm MDT / 1 pm CDT / 2 pm EDT

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Ainash Childebayeva and learn about interactions between our genes and the environment. Watch on FacebookTwitter, or YouTube to participate in the Q&A session.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was recorded live on August 27, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 11 | Rachel Bynoe

Meet Leakey Foundation grantee Rachel Bynoe and learn about her work exploring a submerged Pleistocene site off Happisburgh, England.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live October 1, 2020.


Lunch Break Science # 12 | Margaret Crofoot and Grace Davis

Meet Leakey Foundation grantees Margaret Crofoot and Grace Davis and learn about leadership and decision making in primate societies.

This episode of Lunch Break Science was filmed live on October 15, 2020.