The Gordon P. Getty Award

The Gordon P. Getty Award was created in 2013 to celebrate Mr. Getty’s 40 years of leadership and his significant contributions to science as Chairman of The Leakey Foundation’s board of trustees.

The Leakey Foundation believes that no other person can be credited for increasing scientific knowledge, education, and public understanding of human origins more significantly than Mr. Getty. We are pleased to award this grant in his honor.

The Gordon P. Getty Award is given to an individual who shows extraordinary originality and dedication in their intellectual and professional pursuits while exemplifying a multidisciplinary approach to human origins research.

Gordon P. Getty Award Laureates

2013 – Dr. Sileshi Semaw, CENIEH
2014 – Dr. Thure Cerling, University of Utah
2014 – Dr. Clara Scarry, California State University
2016 – Dr. Margaret Crofoot, Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior
2017 – Dr. Fredrick Manthi, National Museums of Kenya
2018 – Dr. Susan Perry, University of California, Los Angeles
2019 – Dr. Yohannes Haile-Selassie, Arizona State University
2020 – Dr. Richard Kay, Duke University
2021 – Dr. Liran Samuni, Harvard University
2023 – Dr. Carol Ward, University of Missouri
2024 – Dr. Anna K. Behrensemeyer, Smithsonian Institution