Photo by: Purwo Kuncoro

Eduardo Fernandez-Duque receives The John P. McGovern Award Lecture in the Behavioral Sciences

Headshot of Eduardo Fernandez-Duque
Dr. Eduardo Fernandez-Duque

The Leakey Foundation is thrilled to congratulate Dr. Eduardo Fernandez-Duque for receiving The John P. McGovern Award Lecture in the Behavioral Sciences from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Leakey Foundation grantee Dr. Eduardo Fernandez-Duque is Professor of Anthropology and the School of the Environment at Yale University. His research examines the behavioral, psychological, and ecological correlations of male-female relationships, pair bonding, sexual selection, and parental care in three primate species; titis, sakis, and owl monkeys. This research takes him to the Tiputini Biodiversity Station in the Ecuadorian Amazon, the ranch Estancia Guayolec in Formosa, Argentina, and primate facilities in the United States.

Owl monkey sitting on a wood sign
Owl Monkey Project, Formosa-Argentina
Photo: C. Valeggia

Dr. Fernandez-Duque is a passionate advocate for conservation and education. He and his wife, Dr. Claudia Valeggia, established the Fundación ECO in Formosa in Argentina in 1999 to provide educational research experiences to students from all around the world. They also work to educate the people of the Argentinean Chaco about the region’s incredible biodiversity and the importance of protecting it.

Dr. Fernandez-Duque will share his fascinating research and significant contributions to the international scientific community in the December 17th episode of Lunch Break Science.

December 17 at 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Watch live on FacebookTwitter,  YouTube, or Leakey Foundation Live if you’d like to participate in the Q&A session.

Register here for reminders to watch Dr. Eduardo Fernandez-Duque’s Lunch Break Science episode:

Register for Reminders
First name
Last name
Submitting this form signs you up for automatic event reminders



Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Content