Photo by: Purwo Kuncoro

Live March 2022

Photos of March 2022 Leakey Foundation live programming speakers Dr. Liran Samuni, Dr. Mercy Akinyi, and Dr. Kelly Stewart

Celebrate Women’s History Month with The Leakey Foundation with these upcoming programs!

ONE NIGHT ONLY!
SciCafe: The Secrets of Chimpanzee Society
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
4 pm Pacific | 7 pm Eastern

Join The Leakey Foundation and the American Museum of Natural History for a virtual lecture with primatologist Dr. Liran Samuni.In this lecture, she’ll explore some of the more fascinating aspects of group relationships in chimpanzees, from cooperation and conflict to group belonging, solidarity, and in-group support, providing a glimpse into how our own human behavior in societal systems might have occurred.

Dr. Liran Samuni is the 2021 recipient of The Leakey Foundation’s Gordon P. Getty Grant Laureate. This prestigious award is given to an individual who shows extraordinary originality and dedication in their intellectual and professional pursuits while exemplifying a multidisciplinary approach to human origins research.

This program will be live-streamed March 2, 2022 at 4 pm Pacific / 7 pm Eastern on Zoom. A recording of this program will not be available after, so be sure to watch it live! Click here to register for free.


Lunch Break Science #41 | Mercy Akinyi
Thursday, March 3, 2022
11 am Pacific | 2 pm Eastern


Meet Leakey Foundation Baldwin Fellowship Scholar Dr. Mercy Akinyi and learn what studying disease in wild baboons tells us about how behavior influences disease transmission to others.

Watch live at 11 am Pacific, 12 pm Mountain, 1 pm Central, and 2 pm Eastern on Facebook, LinkedIn, TwitterYoutube, or on our website at Leakey Foundation Live to ask questions live.


Lunch Break Science #42 | Kelly Stewart
Thursday, March 17, 2022
11 am Pacific | 2 pm Eastern


Meet primatologist Dr. Kelly Stewart and learn about her fascinating career studying mountain gorillas and primate conservation.

Watch live at 11 am Pacific, 12 pm Mountain, 1 pm Central, and 2 pm Eastern on Facebook, LinkedIn, TwitterYoutube, or on our website at Leakey Foundation Live to ask questions live.


These programs are made possible by the generous support of The Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation, Camilla and George Smith, and the Joan and Arnold Travis Education Fund.



Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Content