Photo by: Purwo Kuncoro

Zarin Machanda on Chimpanzee Communication and Relationships

Did you know chimpanzees make vocalizations unique to their situation, such as when they first see a snake in the forest?

This month’s featured video is primatologist Zarin Machanda’s talk from The Leakey Foundation’s new web series Lunch Break Science. Dr. Machanda is assistant professor of anthropology at Tufts University and director of the Kibale Chimpanzee Project. Her talk explores the surprisingly nuanced world of chimpanzee vocalizations and gestures. She also teaches you how to pant-hoot like a chimpanzee! 

Tune in for new episodes of Lunch Break Science live on Facebook, YouTube, and leakeyfoundation.org/live every Thursday through August 27 at 11 am Pacific • 12 pm Mountain • 1 pm Central • 2 pm Eastern.



Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Content

07.27.20

Science Through Visual Stories

Video
On July 22, The Leakey Foundation hosted a free webinar with global change biologist and science communication educator Sara ElShafie. The recording of “Science Through Visual Stories” is now available!