Loading Events

« All Events

The Chimpanzee Within Us

April 7 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

ONE NIGHT ONLY! This event will not be recorded. Please RSVP to watch this one-time event on Wednesday, April 7th at 4 pm Pacific – 5 pm Mountain – 6 pm Central – 7 pm Eastern

 

Why are humans the way we are? One way to answer this question is to look to our closest cousins, the chimpanzees. Join Assistant Professor of Psychology and Anthropology Alexandra Rosati of the University of Michigan and Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Biology Zarin Machanda of Tufts University as they examine the world of chimpanzees, including chimpanzee social lives, ecological context, and how they think and solve problems. By understanding what it means to be a chimpanzee, we can turn back the evolutionary clock to glimpse the origins of human cognition and behavior.

 

This program is presented in partnership by The Leakey Foundation and the American Museum of Natural History. This event takes place at 4 pm Pacific / 7 pm Eastern.

 

Please RSVP for this free program, and the link to view will be included in your confirmation email.

 

This program will be presented on Zoom. Please install Zoom in advance to ensure you don’t miss any of the program. You can download Zoom by clicking here or by downloading for your mobile device or tablet from the App Store or Google Play.

 

RSVP

 

NOTE: Don’t miss this lecture! This event will not be recorded. Please RSVP to watch this one-time event on Wednesday, April 7th at 4 pm Pacific – 5 pm Mountain – 6 pm Central – 7 pm Eastern

Details

Date:
April 7
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://ticketing.amnh.org/#/event/246470

Related Content

Darwin sits on a turtle's back reading from a book on a beach A Most Interesting Problem

02.13.21
Join The Leakey Foundation for a free virtual celebration of Darwin’s birthday and the 150th anniversary of the publication of "The Descent of Man." This event brings together seven world-class scholars and science communicators to explore what Darwin got right and what he got wrong about the origin, history, and biological variation of humans.

Comments 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.